Posted by: ayakoaya | May 9, 2008

Why You Perhaps Shouldn’t Install Windows XP SP3

It’s not new news, most assuredly, but feedback for the XP SP3 patch has not been favorable.

Yesterday I installed SP3 for the first time on a brand new computer from Dell (Optiplex 330, core 2 duo), and Windows updates no longer worked. I had to manually try installing IE7, and could do that, but not through Windows update. Also, when installing other 3rd party applications, there were problems with them failing out, and various hiccups which made me decide to scrap it.

I’m just wiping it clean.

I shoulda checked the forums first. My bad. Though there are people coming out saying nothing bad has happened to them, so I guess it only got some and I was unlucky.

Here’s a forum with some complaints about the upgrade.

Responses

  1. […] designxpert wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptIt’s not new news, most assuredly, but feedback for the XP SP3 patch have not been favorable. Yesterday I installed SP3 for the first time on a brand new computer from Dell, and Windows updates no longer worked. … […]

  2. I have had success by using the Custom option on Windows Update for new computers. When you get to the option to install SP3 scroll down a little and click the button to view other updates.

    Do this more than once until all other updates are complete and then install SP3 and you will avoid the problem where SP3 breaks Windows Update.

    If you have already broken Windows Update then this batch file seems to restart the proper services to get it working again:
    http://www.mediafire.com/?0mbdodwsykn

    I hope that helps.

  3. I have problems with Windows XP SP3 in the Dell Optiplex 330 which I use in work. Windows does not startup! What can I do?


Leave a Reply

Categories

